National Geographic: Digital or Print?

I LOVE National Geographic and for the past year I had a subscription until I realized I need space to keep magazines in my tiny home and I have no more space to designate to magazines.  Josh enjoys the magazine as well and I miss it.  Haha…do you think it’s because I used to work in Periodicals at HPU?  I saw magazines and journals almost every day for five years, I guess I’m having withdrawals on information overload.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=ylacar&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B00005NIOH&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrI checked out their website and saw that they have a digital subscription and that would help me on the space issue (it’s why libraries weed their old magazines and journals as well and subscribe to databases-space issues!).

If the Kindle was in color-I’d get it on Josh’s Kindle, but it’s black and white.  If I had an iPad 2 or when I get one…I’m going to get all my magazines on that!! 🙂 It will save me space for sure.

When I used to work at the library, we donated our National Geographic back issues to the Friends of the Library Book Sale which supports Hawaii State Public Libraries.  I never knew how popular they were until I went to one of these book sales and saw people all over the shelves grabbing very old issues of National Geographic.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=ylacar&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B003XIKA4W&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrAs you can see to the left of this post, Amazon.com sells The COMPLETE National Geographic-every issue since 1888!  Wow and it’s only 39.86?  Check out the space saver on that?

I guess my problem then is to wait to get an ipad or order it now and read it on my laptop, which is not bad since it’s only $15.00 for a year subscription.  We’ll see…

 

2 thoughts on “National Geographic: Digital or Print?

  1. if you really want to get it now, then get it. if you don't mind waiting a couple more weeks till the Ipad 2 comes out then I'd wait. That way your not doing double duty on downloading. Hope this helps!

  2. i probably won't be getting the ipad2 soon though…oh well, i think i can wait-yeah i thought about the whole double duty on downloading, that's why i was debating about it. but thanks for your input! i'll go to a bookstore and read the whole issue there for now…lol…

Leave a Reply

