Ow! Storms, Waterspouts and Oprah

I just got done watching episodes of Sex and the City on E! and Style while I am nursing my back and wrist.  Now I’m watching Shania Twain’s interview on Oprah, poor woman…the dogs are sleeping as I sit on the bed. πŸ™‚

Sky is snoring, Nani is using her as a pillow.  Too cute!

So what happened this weekend?

I briefly touched on watching Water for Elephants, the movie, with Eunice in my last post.  I didn’t read the book, but Eunice and I are so wanting to start a virtual online book club.  What do you think?  We can facebook it! We want to read The Help  before the movie comes out also.  So we better get on it! http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=ylacar&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0425232204&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Anyone read this?  The movie looks good!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=ylacar&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1565125606&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrI liked Water for Elephants, the movie.  I didn’t know what to expect.  But I am SO glad Rob Pattinson wasn’t a vampire.  So glad.  So happy he was tanned and smiling in this movie.  Reese is such a movie star.

I love how the movie was filmed.  The way they introduced the life of the circus and the setting of it during the Depression Era.  I am always fascinated by that era and with our recession presently, we can learn a lot from it.

Eunice and I also visited La Tour Cafe on Nimitz.  And after eating buttered popcorn with Mochi Crunch, hot dogs and a coke during the movies, the food at La Tour Cafe was most welcome.  I think my body thanked me!  We had the Chicken Pesto Panini which was nice and hot.  It came with a salad which I snarfed down quickly.  And we also shared the spinach, mushroom, chicken flatbread pizza, perfect for us to share.

It was where we first heard of Osama Bin Laden being caught and killed.

Overall it was a fun Sunday, it’s always a good day when it is spent with friends!

And remember the garden I wrote about in my last post?  I talked about roots, deep roots.  Well Josh got so excited about my project in the garden that while I went on my date with Eunice, he went and got tools to dig up the ground so I could transfer our garden.  I thought he was going to do a small patch, but I was wrong.  By the time I got home, there was a mound of dirt and a trench along the fence.  I told him the forecast called for rain, but surprisingly sunday didn’t rain!

But Monday did.  The rain didn’t come until 4:00pm while I was babysitting in Kalihi.  It started to pour and then it stopped pouring but the thunder was rocking the house!  And the lightning was everywhere.  I decided to hang out awhile longer in Kalihi to wait out traffic.  Well it was chaos with the kids running around, me and my sister talking, and the thunder going on.  But Jacob, my eldest nephew, was saying, “Come to the window!”  Of course, my sister was trying to clean up the mess in the living room and I was playing with my ipad but I finally listen when he shouts “Aunty!  Come to the window now!”

He sounded so urgent that I went to look out the window and sure enough I saw the water spouts, two of them in the sky.

photo via msnbc
photo via new.yahoo.com

Jacob was terrified and I thought it was so cool!  Freakishly cool.  But he was saying it was coming for us so I had to switch gears and say look, it’s breaking up now, it’s gone.  He wasn’t convinced.  The dark clouds were so ominous in Kalihi and the thunder was seriously sounding like bombs outside, he was scared.

I told him that Uncle Josh used to see them all the time and that they were over the water (thank you god for not making me a liar..lol).  He asked why Uncle Josh used to see them and I told him he was in the Navy.  I told him he’d seen many of them when he was on his ship.  It calmed him down a bit, he admires his Uncle Josh a lot.  But he asked me if the sun would come out tomorrow…I said, Yes it would.  When I saw facebook statuses this morning saying it was raining in town, I was thinking, oh no!  But the sun did come out today, at least by noon, so I’m glad πŸ™‚

I gotta say, the lightning was amazing last night but the combination of rain, thunder, lightning and traffic yesterday made me really, really nervous.  Here are some pics I found online from the lightning storm last night.

photo via cbear53006
photo via ayabeal
photo via 50undercover taken by Aaron Yoshino

Nature is so beautiful and dangerous and raw.  I love the storm, but I know how nature can be fatal at the same time so I respect it’s power.  Am humbled by it, am in awe of it.

And why “Ow”  In my post title?  Because I type this post with a sore wrist.  Why is it sore?  Because I started moving my red ginger plants.  I have 8 of them…huge plants.  I started at 7:30am today because I was afraid it would rain again and sure enough it started raining but I thought, it’s not TOO heavy and it’s warm rain, not chilly, so I sucked it up and started to dig out a plant.

I was cursing (I think my neighbor could hear me, he leaves his window open), grunting with each push of the dang shovel.  The roots are so stubborn.  I had to squat down, dig out the dirt and expose the roots, but then I had to shovel the plant out of the ground and I was standing on the shovel handle at some points.  I started to feel my back ache and knew I had to stop.  Also, my thumbs were raw from the gloves but now my wrist hurts.  Boo!  I can type, but when I twist or squeeze it hurts!

Here is what I got done though…

This was when the sun wasn’t out yet

Here’s the sun out at noon, my dirt was drying fast by then!

So I moved 5 red ginger plants…with the soil attached to the roots, these plants were heavy to move.  I was so muddy and dirty!  But wow, I felt good knowing I could do it!  I trimmed a lot of the leaves and flowers because some of it were dead, that’s why the plant looks sparse.  I’m keeping only a few of the ferns, not all, I keep calling it ferns, but they aren’t really ferns.

Josh wants to help me move the last 3 plants so I stopped at noon.  But my body is definitely feeling it!  It was a good day overall though, I got a lot done πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

