Music-by GIRLS.

I love the piano.

I hated the piano when I was 7 and my dad forced me to play it.  But I grew to love it, when it was the only thing I was allowed to do on a weekend night as my friends went to the movies.  I drowned in Beethoven under full moons, staring out my window, wondering why home had to be my prison.  What can I say, I grew up with a dad who told me “NO” a lot.

No you can’t go out with your friends.  No you can’t date.  No you can’t leave.  No you can’t think.  No, no no.

I don’t usually watch The Voice because I’m over the whole song contest thing, but I didn’t have anything to watch tonight and I know I saw her perform in the first show and I was curious to see who made it to the semi-finals and there she was performing “Losing My Religion”.  Miss Dia Frampton.  Her voice in a very strange way is reminiscent of certain bands I listened to in the 90’s.  Is that weird?!  I thought it was weird, but I had to watch her.  I love her voice and that she can actually play instruments.  I like how she can be soft and hard at the same time.  Of course I looked for her youtube stuff.

LOVE her piano performances.

Why does this remind me of Pride & Prejudice? The one with Keira Knightley which is my favorite movie.  The lighting, the candles, the piano. And she’s natural…it’s simple, but very beautiful and intimate.  And the lyrics of the song…I was listening to Dia sing it and it reminded me of Josh always saying he’ll need Rogaine…and even though I know my baby will be bald one day, I want to be the one still holding his hand.  Bald and all…LOL…cute right?

“The Way I Am” by. Ingrid Michaelson

If you were falling, then I would catch you.

You need a light, I’d find a match.

Cause I love the way you say good morning.

And you take me the way I am.

If you are chilly, here take my sweater.

Your head is aching, I’ll make it better.

Cause I love the way you call me baby.

And you take me the way I am.

I’d buy you Rogaine when you start losing all your hair.

Sew on patches to all you tear.

Cause I love you more than I could ever promise.

And you take me the way I am.

You take me the way I am.

You take me the way I am. 
*******

Of course she covered The Cave by Mumford & Sons, which I love too:


She has this country-esque voice to her, soft and lyrical.  But she reminds me of the Frente cover of Bizarre Love Triangle…


Oh my gosh, she reminds me of Mazzy Star too…man I used to LOVE “Fade Into You”…


And then there’s Sixpence None the Richer…LOL…remember the movie “She’s All That”? 

 
And of course there is Bic Runga with “Sway”…I think it was a time when girls rocked with a guitar and soft voices…you know what I mean?


Ugh…and of course there was Jewel…I had a book of her poems, seriously, man I was emo before “emo” was even IN.  “Foolish Games”…like seriously…she broke my heart with this song, talk about breaking my heart “this is my heart bleeding before you, this is me down on my knees!”…YEAH!  you, whoever broke my heart…lol….

And how can I not mention The Cranberries.  This is what I mean when Dia has that soft voice but can rock it if she wants to.  The Cranberries did the same with my fave song, “Zombie”.  I LOVE this song.
Okay, did I just take myself down memory lane or what? Haha…hey it’s what I listened to, among other things in the 90’s.
But I went off on a real tangent, back to Dia Frampton.  Love her voice.
And because I LOVE me some Adele and I’m impressed with anyone who tries to sing her songs, I’ll leave off with this.  One of my favorite Adele songs on her album, this is Dia’s cover:
Someone Like You by. Adele

I heard
That you’re settled down
That you
Found a girl
And you’re
Married now

I heard
That your dreams came true.
Guess she gave you things
I didn’t give to you

Old friend
Why are you so shy?
Ain’t like you to hold back
Or hide from the light

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.
I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me it isn’t over

Never mind
I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
“Don’t forget me,” I begged
“I’ll remember,” you said
“Sometimes it lasts in love
But sometimes it hurts instead.”
Sometimes it lasts in love
But sometimes it hurts instead,
Yeah.

You know how the time flies
Only yesterday
It was the time of our lives
We were born and raised
In a summer haze
Bound by the surprise
Of our glory days

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.
I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me it isn’t over.

Never mind
I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
“Don’t forget me,” I begged
“I’ll remember,” you said
“Sometimes it lasts in love
But sometimes it hurts instead.”

Nothing compares
No worries or cares
Regrets and mistakes
They are memories made.
Who would have known
How bittersweet this would taste?

Never mind
I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
“Don’t forget me,” I begged
“I’ll remember,” you said
“Sometimes it lasts in love
But sometimes it hurts instead”

Never mind
I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
“Don’t forget me,” I begged
“I’ll remember,” you said
“Sometimes it lasts in love
But sometimes it hurts instead”

Sometimes it lasts in love
But sometimes it hurts instead 

One thought on “Music-by GIRLS.

Leave a Reply

