Recap, Fast Forward and Incubus

I feel like I have been hit by a truck.  I’m TIRED.  Why?  Let’s Recap.

APEC traffic was…EPIC.

APEC 2011 Hawaii

I say this with awe right NOW but I cursed it on Sunday, November 13th with irritation because I left early enough to get to work and still I was diverted and blocked.  My diversion took me through Waipahu and I am SO not familiar with Waipahu, but I found my way to the freeway entrance in Waikele and thank goodness they were letting people on, east bound!

I got on with the few who were on the road…and I mean few.  At times I was the only one driving since people zoomed past me.  Of course I almost got into an accident when someone realized H2 North was closed and decided to cut right in front of me in a confused state to get into the Kam Highway off ramp, which looked like a parking lot already.  Thanks guy, you can’t just change lanes and stop in the middle confused….but once I passed him, it was free and clear into the great wide open freeway.  I had never in my life seen it so empty.  The hair on my arms stood at attention, it was a goose bump, chicken skin kind of moment.  I imagined that this was how it looked back in the day when many fewer people lived on Oahu and then I dreamed how it would be if we would have no traffic whatsoever and how quiet it would be.

The serenity didn’t last of course.  I passed Waikele Shopping Center and saw news crews and people lined up along the fence waiting for the convoys of foreign presidents to drive by.  I don’t know who was in what convoy but they seemed to be spaced out about ten-twenty minutes apart.  There was police, Secret Service, a fire truck and an ambulance and many cars with tinted windows with each convoy that passed me on the  freeway.  Watching them go by was eerie.  Me, driving lonesome on one side…someone unimportant to these IMPORTANT people.  I was someone who would never register in their mind, ever, yet here they were, MEN of importance, protected by everything our state has got, going in the opposite direction.  That says a lot, doesn’t it?  😛  They were protected because they meant more to the world than I did.  I felt insignificant.  To think if everyone traveled with their own ambulance and fire truck, we’d all feel significant maybe, but we aren’t that important, are we?

It was a peaceful drive, I watched about seven convoys pass me by, not knowing who were in them.  Maybe the Chinese president, with his country so vast in power and a big threat.  Maybe it was the Russian president, who I don’t know much about, because the last president of Russia I payed attention to was Putin.   Maybe it was our president, who grew up on this island I grew up in too.  Important people, who once upon a time was insignificant like me.  It tripped me out just a little.

Free Way

all clear

I thought I was good to go until I reached the infamous Middle Street merge.  I went past my high school, spying men in uniform securing every underpass, overpass, freeway entrance and off-ramp.  Our world on Sunday stood still for important men conducting important business that we little people can’t stop and make time to wrap our heads around.  We have bills to pay, food to eat, work to do and family to take care of.  That’s our important little world for many of us.  There was another blockade and I was tired diverting traffic.

Traffic Rearview

Traffic Sideview

This time I made the decision to sit and stay as I watched one last large convoy go by.  I put my car into park and waited as people tried to get off the freeway, yet it was only a matter of time.  It took only twenty minutes of waiting before the blockade was lifted  and the woman in the car next to me cheered out loud as we took off racing down the empty freeway…what a feeling, to drive on an empty freeway!  I love it!  I got to work, ON TIME!  Amazing!

Then Monday I had very bad headache so I took a Tylenol after going grocery shopping and took a nap…a long nap.  By the time my hubby came home, it was almost 6pm and I woke up.  We decided to do a movie night and went to watch Immortals at Kapolei Theaters (not the best theater to see it at).  I LOVE Henry Cavill.  I loved him the first time years ago when he was in The Tudors.  He was hot then and he seems hotter now!  I loved the movie…but I made the wrong assumption.  Because I loved the movie 300, for some reason I thought the same person directed Immortals and was confused for a moment at how the movie was going.  Then when I went home I confirmed the thought in my head…it was NOT the same director as 300, that one was filmed by Zack Snyder.  Immortals by Tarsem Singh.  Then it made total sense to me!  Anyway I enjoyed it because I love Henry Cavill , he’s gorgeous!!!  Plus I love greek mythology.

Henry Cavill in The Tudors

Henry Cavill as Theseus

Man of Steel

I am not a fan of Superman.  I loved Smallville but the Superman movie remakes, I didn’t enjoy.  I don’t know if I’ll like this new Superman, but Zack Snyder (300, Suckerpunch, Watchmen) is directing AND Henry Cavill will make a hot Clark Kent…with glasses…I love men in glasses!!  So hell yes I’m watching this.

After the movie, I couldn’t sleep.  Too much nap time equaled less actual “sleep” time for me.  It sucked.  I tossed and turned and annoyed my dogs.  Instead I stayed up emailing a friend who has been corresponding with me the last two days!  Thank god I had something to do.  I finally slept at 2:00am even though I knew I had to wake up early today for a morning work shift I signed up for AND President Obama was leaving Oahu, meaning…freeway closures AGAIN!!  Needless to say, I woke up at 6:15am.  Showered, fed the dogs and walked them…making me leave my house at 7:20am.  I knew I was going to be late but I was so tired.

I drove up Ft. Weaver road and parked my car…lol…again.

This time I just didn’t care.  I had nothing scheduled at work anyway so I knew it wouldn’t be a big deal going in late.  The danger was me, tired and wanting to close my eyes for a nap.  I didn’t, of course.  I was stuck on this stretch for about 45 minutes.  I was 15 minutes late to work.  Not bad!  Work was really slow but it was only a 5.5 hour day and then I met a friend of mine for a late lunch/dinner.  We ate and then talked for another 2 hours.  What a talk it was…by the time I chanced the freeway home at 6:15pm I was slightly surprised at how much traffic there still was in town all the way to H2!  It took me an hour to get home 😦  *sigh* but it just can’t be helped.  I live far away and chose to do so.

It’s 9:42pm (it’s 10:23pm as I proofread this) and I am TIRED, so after this post it’s nighty nite for me.  Tomorrow I have to buy my turkey and yams and I think I’m set for Thanksgiving dinner next week.  Can you believe it’s NEXT WEEK?!  I can’t believe it’s already mid November!  In a few weeks, Christmas and a whole new year to go.  The older I get I feel like time moves faster.  Too fast sometimes.  2011 was an amazing year and now 2012 is around the corner.  WOW.

To end this post, here’s a song that’s been haunting me.  Starting with my friend from Cali for posting it on her facebook, then I started hearing it in the car, in the store, in the car many times, and everywhere…it was like THE song for me today…so let’s enjoy some Incubus.

I love the Lyrics too:

Promises, Promises by Incubus

“I’m only 23 for another hour, give or take
I’m a fan of yours and I need a good mistake
I’m not a sinner or preacher, all I have is slight of hand
I do magic tricks for all the boys in the band

Baby could I be the rabbit in your hat?
I’d swing if you’d hand me, hand me the bat

I’m on the road of least resistance
I’d rather give up than give in to this
So promise me only one thing, would you?
Just don’t ever make me promises
No promises

I’ve never done this before, promises, promises
But I’m enjoying the illusion and the things my body says
Now you see me, now you don’t, oh how well you disappear
What are you running from and may I interfere?

Baby could I be the rabbit in your hat?
I’d swing if you’d hand me, hand me the bat

I’m on the road of least resistance
I’d rather give up than give in to this
So promise me only one thing, would you?
Just don’t ever make me promises
No promises ”

I know this post has been totally RANDOM but that’s how I feel like life has been since my last post.  So many things can happen in a few days but that’s life and I’m up for the challenge of livin’.  🙂

And just because I love this sweet face as she sleeps and she always makes me happy, here’s one more random thing…good night world and thanks for reading.

Sky smiling

Sky Nirvana

Sky Bliss

Leave a Reply

