Sherlock Holmes and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

My must see movies this month!  Sherlock Holmes because it’s England, love!  I love England and British accents.  🙂  Josh loves the Sherlock Holmes series.  I know it comes out today but not sure when we’ll go see it.  Hopefully tomorrow?

photo via The Desk of Brian

Also…

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo comes out December 20th!  Yikes!  I’ve been waiting for this movie.  I never got to watch the Swedish version which I heard was really good.  But have you seen Rooney Mara, who plays Lisbeth Salander?  That’s how I kind of imagined Lisbeth to be!  I hear she is AMAZING as Lisbeth, so I can’t wait to see it.

This movie, or story isn’t “fun”.  It’s suspenseful, thrilling, VIOLENT.  I say that again, it is VIOLENT.  The original title of the book was “Men Who Hate Women”.  In many of his biographies online, it’s said that at 15 years old the author witnessed a gang rape of a girl which made him abhor violence and abuse against women.  He was also against Neo-Nazis after what his grandfather went through when he protested against the Nazis in World War II.  It’s naturally why his series covers Nazis and violence towards women.

It’s a dark story, but one I can’t wait to see on the big screen.  And there is a violent and horrible rape scene in the book, I’ll have to close my eyes when I watch the film.  Reading it made me almost want to throw up and cry.  I wanted to throw the book and stomp on it for letting me read THAT scene.  But it’s part of the reason Lisbeth is the way she is and Lisbeth is MY freakin’ HERO.  She is an amazing character to read and learn about.  I was rooting for her all the way through the books.  After reading this series I was like…WOW…she Got it DONE.  If you read the series, you know what I’m talking about.

Let’s just say I can’t wait to watch miss Lisbeth Salander kick some big big booties.  In the way she knows how-hacking.  The story is powerful and I hope the movie is just as good.

Photo via Collider

2 thoughts on “Sherlock Holmes and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

    • Hi Matt! Thanks for reading. TGWTDT is not for everyone. To tell you the truth I couldn’t get through the first book, I read 20 pages and put it down and didn’t touch it for a year. I thought it was boring. It got only good around pages 200 something (it was a kind of torture for me). The rest of the books were quite thrilling. But yes LOVE Sherlock Holmes-the chemistry between Robert Downing, Jr & Jude Law is fantastic, should be a great movie!

Leave a Reply

